10
Jan
11

Happy New Year…

Well how else do you start a blog on January 10, 2011! It’s almost been a year now since i started this blog….and i have to admit that I’m very disappointed in my regularity of posting!!! I had such high hopes, post at least, and i mean at the very least….once a week! but it looks like i missed that mark by quite a margin!
So, even altho I am not one to make new year’s resolutions (I mean who really sticks to them!), I am going to aim for a post a week! Note to self: put it in the daytimer!!!

And what would a new year’s post be without some looking backwards, remembering and recounting. So, in that vein, I’d say that it has been a very successful year on so many levels. But as this is mostly meant to be a blog about my pottery, I’ll stay in that area! Last year at this time, i was excitedly exploring new glazes, didn’t have the foggiest idea of what direction might be stumbled upon! It was invigorating, intense and so all consuming. Terry and I could hardly get out to the studio fast enough when a kiln was ready to be unloaded. As the year progressed it was a case of fine tuning the 4-5 glazes i was really interested in pursuing. It never got dull – but there was a certain excitement missing. So, to begin this new year, the second one in this wonderful studio, I am embarking on more glaze tests. I am very happy with the glazes i have chosen, and it would seem that the stores and the public are too! I just want to keep dabbling about in the chemistry of it all. At the early part of the year, there isn’t much need for me to get into real production. So watch this space for new and different glazes to emerge!

I also want to show some of the new work being produced in the studio.

I have made many, many dinner ware sets over the years, and I love doing them. If anyone is interested, please feel free to contact me for pricing and timing. This set would be approximately $95 a place setting. They come in either floating blue (seen here), celadon or cream gloss.


This is a medium pitcher, about 9″ tall, and comes in all three glazes.

Bowls of all different sizes are available, this is an example of a medium bowl….suitable for salad or fruit, or pasta. I love making bowls, small, medium and very large!!

Covered casseroles are available in all three glazes.


Teapots come in 2 sizes, one that holds approximately 6 cups and a smaller version holding about 4 cups.

Terry has been busy making these wonderful boxes, small, medium and large ones….they are so different from my work it is lovely to see how they are put together!

this one is glazed in cream gloss and mackersie’s turquoise.

To watch how Terry makes these boxes is so astonishing….he is such a carpenter….he measures, and fits things together in a way that i would never have thought to do it! I love how they look, and they are so function too, utensils in the kitchen, brushes in the studio……or pens and pencils in the office!

These are just a few examples of what we have been up to lately! Please feel free to call ahead, chances are we’ll be here!

Wishing everyone a very healthy, joyous and happy 2011.

4 Responses to “Happy New Year…”


  1. January 14, 2011 at 11:31 am

    Great work, really love that blue glaze – nice to see a group of pieces together. I’ve been thinking of photographing more of my work together to create a cohesive ‘look’ in images.

    • January 14, 2011 at 2:09 pm

      Hi Victoria….thank you for your comment, and i remember you contacted me before, sorry i didn’t reply then! I’ve just had a look at your blog…you do very fine work….and i loved reading about how you got your studio name, that is such a lovely story, and a great name for a studio!! my name is a bit mundane but it’s works well cos our retreat centre is called Big Hill – and it is well known in the area as that!

      cheers, linda

  2. January 15, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    Hi Linda
    These pieces are beautiful and looks and sounds like you are enjoying life!! Great to hear
    Peggy

  3. 4 Jean L Price
    January 26, 2011 at 10:16 pm

    Hello Linda: You have been in my thoughts so much these days that I finally sat down write and re-connect. Looks like you are thriving in your new home. I am soooo happy for you. Fred and I are great. We have decided to simplify our lives so with that in mind, we will be listing our home in the Spring with a view to downsizing. Not sure where we are off to but I am sure the Universe will point us in the right direction!!! We are taking off in our R.V. mid Feb and heading to New Orleans and then down into Florida for 4-6 weeks. Have had enough shovelling!!!!!! Seems like everyday there is more. What has it been like for you? Looks like your daughters are doing well. Drop me a line when you get some time.
    Hugs
    Jean and Fred


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 28,339 hits
January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Linda Wright, Potter.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 66 other followers


