10
Mar
11

NEW KILN…..

What an amazing thing this new kiln is….I have to say I was pretty apprehensive firing the first glaze load in the new computerized kiln! I wanted the safety of the familiar, the understanding of how my old kiln works, where the hot spots are….when to turn the middle back etc…..in a word, I was a bit worried! Well, let me tell you, what a treat this firing has been…..we put it on yesterday evening around 5pm, our manual told us that a fast glaze firing to cone 6 would take approximately 4 1/2 hours…..the old kiln took, on a good day….13 hours!!!! So I was rather skeptical that this kiln would fire in less than 1/2 the time! It did in fact take a little longer…6 1/2 hours in total, so only 2 hours over the estimated time….and I went to bed an hour before the firing ended!!! Never heard of doing such a thing in all my history of being a potter! I usually have cones to watch, knobs to fiddle with etc…..Terry did of course stay up and was the keeper of the kiln firing for me. But he didn’t have to do anything – just check and make sure it actually shut itself off – and it did!!! I am in love with my new shiny kiln!!!

Here are a few shots of the pieces from the first firing.

And here’s the other wonderful thing….it fired so evenly that the 3 main glazes can be situated anywhere in the kiln…i used to have to figure out how to make sure the celadon glaze got a bit hotter – all the work looked great. There was a bit of a disaster, 2 open casseroles, with the cream gloss glaze, ran too much and stuck to my brand new shelf…that was just sad!!!

I totally love the look of a pile of pots just fresh out of the kiln….here’s a shot of most of the first firing!

Not only did the firing take less than 1/2 the time the old kiln took…..it cools down way faster too!! so we were able to start the firing at 5pm last night, and unload the kiln this afternoon around 4pm!!!

I’m am going to say it, cos I know a few friends of mine are already saying it…..why did I take so long to move up in the technological world…..truth be told….money mostly. I got a wonderful grant from Cape Breton Craft and Design Centre, in Sydney which enable me to even think about this new kiln!

5 Responses to “NEW KILN…..”


  1. 1 Jodie
    March 10, 2011 at 10:20 pm

    Hooray! Isn’t it nice when things work the first time – especially anything with a computer!
    Those pots look dreamy. Can you turn that shelf up-side-down?

  2. March 11, 2011 at 1:02 am

    Hi Linda,
    Congratulations on getting your new kiln. Your pottery looks great.
    I have now done about 8 firings in my new computerized kiln.
    I love it, the results are great. The glazes look wonderful and
    I no longer have kiln bits dropping in the middle of plates
    or bowls as it did in my old kiln!!
    Look forward to talking face to face and seeing your kiln.
    Joan

  3. 3 Breeenda
    March 11, 2011 at 3:37 am

    Well, looks like you’re off to a good start….entering the true computer age eh???

    I still fancy myself hiking across the front lawn to check my kiln!!

    Working on another big order …150 large pots … all 3# bowls, jugs and dip trays so I Have made and bisque fired half…..could use some help????

    Miss seeing you at your wheel

    Take care,

    Breeenda

  4. 4 Dana
    March 17, 2011 at 4:59 am

    Congratulations on the kiln. I love the red/yellow ochre vases.

  5. March 17, 2011 at 12:26 pm

    Your new pieces look great, shame that you got one that stuck always hate it when that happens! Sounds like your getting along well : )


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 27,745 hits
March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Linda Wright, Potter.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 67 other followers


