18
Apr
12

All Fired Up!

It has been a very busy and exciting few days around here….just a few days after we returned from our wonderful trip to Cuba, i embarked upon the testing of some 15 new glazes! I’ve long admired the glaze surfaces of Steven Hill who used to fire in cone 10 reduction, and about 3 years ago he did a whole lot of testing and is now able to get the same amazing glazes, at cone 6, in oxidation! i was so happy to get his DVD and some of his glaze recipes!

I also needed to get the 4 whirling dervish teapots fired – I have a deadline of 20th April to submit images to Lark publications…they are putting out a new book…500 Teapots! So the pressure was on….and i decided to go all out and basically do my second round of glaze testing…on my teapots! Call me crazy – but sometimes you just gotta go big and leap!!!

The following images are the before and after shots of each teapot!!

First one is using my usual cream gloss combination…with one added new glaze!

This next one has a base of cream gloss with other glazes on top!

and the finished fired piece…

The next 2 teapots have a variety of the new glazes on them…

and finally…the one i really let loose on….it’s growing on me for sure, but when i took it out of the kiln..i let out a small gasp….it wasn’t what i was expecting!

I also tried a few of them singularly on wine cups and small bowls….the following combinations have a lot of potential i think

….and of course the headaches will begin when I have to try to decide on which glazes to add to the 3 I already offer a full line in!

So, what a blast trying out these new glazes, and I’ve certainly got my work cut out for me with the next few rounds of tests!

But that’s the fun of all this mucking about in the clay…continuous experimentation and searching.

And just to give a small glimpse of Cuba…..

2 Responses to “All Fired Up!”


  1. 1 Leslie
    April 20, 2012 at 2:45 pm

    Hi Linda,
    I was wondering how those teapots were coming.Looks like they were a great success and I think you really captured the twirling dancers.I think it was so great thet you told us where the inspiration came from because it really makes us look at the piece in a differant way.Hope you had a great trip and birthday in Cuba.Love Leslie

  2. May 8, 2012 at 11:47 am

    I love that blue on the last cups so lovely! I’ve been trying to create some tiny sample pieces too I can’t be doing with test tiles I just dont think they really show the character of the glaze


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 27,340 hits
April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Linda Wright, Potter.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 65 other followers


