07
Sep
12

Glaze Tests gone wrong!!

If you’ve read previous blogs you’ll know that I’ve been excitedly exploring new glazes. My main inspiration is one of the most amazing potters in America…..http://www.stevenhillpottery.com/StevenHillPottery/Home.html
I have long drooled over his glaze surfaces, but because he works at cone 10 reduction I could never try any of his glazes! well, about 3-4 years ago he changed over to cone 6-8 oxidation, my range….and since then I’ve been trying out his glazes! He sprays his glazes on in a very fine way, i don’t have the equipment, so I’ve been brushing the glazes on! Just thought I’d show you some more of the results…some not so wonderful!!!

This is what happens when you use too much of one glaze you think is just awesome….Juicy fruit is one of the glazes Steven uses, sparingly, over some of the other glazes! I decided to try to dip the whole bowl in this glaze…..this is what happens!!!

Some of the other combinations were more successful, they didn’t stick to the kiln shelf, they have some very intriguing moments and I love some aspects of them. Much more exploration to be done!

I’m really happy with the glazing patterns on this oval platter.

these 2 bowls worked out really well, but there are a few little blips that i don’t like – but on the whole I’m pretty satisfied.

2 Responses to “Glaze Tests gone wrong!!”


  1. September 7, 2012 at 8:04 pm

    “A few little blips I don’t like ….” whose blips are those then?!

  2. 2 Audrey
    September 7, 2012 at 8:35 pm

    Wow! Wow! Wow! Love your new experiments!
    even the abstract wall hanging/new canvas-pic #1. Now you might have to work on lightening up the kiln shelf before you hang it on the wall!


Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 28,796 hits
September 2012
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Linda Wright, Potter.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 66 other followers


